Interview with the Story Teller

Uncategorized

IMG_0300

 

My Blogging assignment has come to an end, but due to the gaining interest It will still continue. A lot of students and other people were interested in tell me their stories. People really love just getting the chance to talk share about all of the hard work that they do. I wanted to share a bit about my story.

Interview with a story teller:

What is your favorite song?

Hands down Miracle Mile by the Cold War kids. It got me through so much. It is the song I always playing in the background when I pictured someone reading my story.

miracle mile – Cold War Kids

I Always knew that I was meant to do great things. I didn’t know what they were. I was really lost for a long time. I dealt with a lot of mental health issues for a really long time. I suffered manic depression and anxiety since I was about 10 years old. I grew up pretty quickly and went through a lot. I had so many opportunities that felt like Miracle Miles with no end. I lost sight of who I was for a really long time.

I was goal oriented with no ambition. I went to Fanshawe College when I was 18 because it was the only place I got into (I actually got wait listed at Sheridan back then) I flunked out pretty quickly. I had made great friends that had bad intentions.

I had just flunked out and still went home for Christmas about 6 years ago. That was the last time I was in Timmins. After Christmas break I then tried to go back for a general arts program. But OSAP denied me.

I didn’t have enough money to pursue my education. I got caught up in the party scene for a few years. My great friends with bad intentions were slowly fading away. I told one of my friends that he wasn’t going to make it past 25. He told me I should go back to school. He died a few months later from an overdose.

I had decided that London had nothing left for me. I moved away and started a hellish journey trying to get back to school. I wanted with everything in me to pursue an education and to meet people who wanted that as well. I worked at a number of Jobs with terrible Bosses. One who yelled in my face and told me I wasn’t going to accomplish anything and fired me a week before Christmas. At the same time, I stayed in a basement apartment and the man upstairs would abuse his wife and his mentally disabled mother It was like there was no sense of peace anywhere. One day I went to work and came home to police and cruisers around the house. I grabbed my cat and we went to my boyfriends. He is one of the best things that ever happened to me.

During all of the chaos I had filed an application to Sheridan for the Media Fundamentals program. I didn’t tell anyone until I knew I got in. I will never forget my moms face. She was so proud of me.

Going to Sheridan has really changed me for the better. I am working towards my future everyday. I still work 2 jobs to stay in school.  I am a Teachers assistant for the Media Fundamentals program. (I have a much better boss now) I also Supervise at a Subway.

Now life is different. I live in a much better place.

But if there was one thing I would tell people who want something better then what they have. Is to run that miracle mile, run it hard until the very end. A mile feels short but when you are not used to running it can feel like forever. My mile was on a long and hard road with many road blocks along the way. I know I have more to come, but what changed is that I know that I wont ever give up. If I can over come this much in 24 years. Anyone can.

So always go that extra mile….you never know where it will lead you

 

What happens from here?

I will still run this blog because I feel it can bring a voice for those who have a lot to say but don’t wish to publicly speak. I think that everyone has a story to tell, just remember that You matter. Your story matters and I want to tell your story. .30.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment